Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.
Historic military vehicle license plates
Certain historic military vehicles may be registered and operated with limited use on Wisconsin highways.
An historic military vehicle (HMV) is a vehicle manufactured for use in any country’s military forces. It must be maintained to accurately represent a military design and markings. HMVs manufactured in the U.S. may be of any age. Imported HMVs must be at least 25 years old. An HMV may be an auto, truck, trailer or motorcycle of any size and weight but cannot be a tracked vehicle (one that runs on continuous tracks or a combination of wheels and tracks).
Note: There are four former military vehicles that may also be registered as a Collector vehicle. These are the Pinzgauer, Kaiser Jeep M-715, military HUMVEE and GMC DUKW truck models. The owner may choose to register these models as either a Collector (COL) or as a HMV. Different fees and rules apply to these four models only. For information regarding these vehicles including fees, rules, and how to apply, see form MV2323 for COL or form MV2592 for HMV.
Historic military vehicle use is restricted
Historic military vehicle registration allows operation only to and from special occasions, such as parades and show events and for regular maintenance. Military vehicles are seldom manufactured to meet federal motor vehicle standards and do not have federal certification labels, so they must display the HMV plate and registration for legal operation. The operator of an HMV must have a valid regular driver license; some HMVs may also require the operator to have a valid commercial driver license. The operator must follow all traffic laws.
How to title and register your historic military vehicle
To apply for a title and/or registration for a former military vehicle you must mail a completed MV2592 application form and the required fees to the address below. Local DMV customer service centers cannot provide title or registration services or issue temporary plates for former military vehicles. HMV owners may apply for a title only or a title and registration at the same time.
Keep a copy of your application, ownership documents and payment until you receive the Certificate of Registration and license plates. When you receive the title, keep it in a secure place (not in the vehicle).
- To receive a new Wisconsin title, the application must include
one of the following original documents as proof of ownership (we
cannot accept photocopies). If the ownership document is not in
your name, include all bills of sale from the last titled owner to
you. Acceptable proof of ownership includes any of the following:
- The previous owner's Wisconsin or out-of-state Certificate of Title
- Manufacturer Certificate (or Statement) of Origin
- The U.S. Government Certificate to Obtain Title to a Vehicle (Standard Form 97)
- Completed and signed form MV2592.
- Photographs of the engine compartment, interior and exterior and all sides of the vehicle.
- If applying for a new title or if the vehicle is not titled in your name in Wisconsin and you are applying to transfer a previous owner's title to your name, complete and sign DMV form MV1. A title transfer fee of $69.50 is required if the vehicle is not titled in your name in Wisconsin.
- $30 registration fee ($5.00 for registration plus a $25 administrative plate issuance fee) for historic military vehicle registration. HMV plates are valid for as long as you own the vehicle.
- Sales tax (if applicable).
- Local sales tax (if applicable).
- Check or money order made payable to Registration Fee Trust.
Keep a copy of the documents for your records and mail the application, documents, photographs and fees to:
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Research and Information Unit
P.O. Box 8070
Madison, WI 53708-8070
Owners who registered their historic military vehicles before October 2010 with Collector, Hobbyist or other registration must reapply under the new law that requires the distinctive HMV plate. Vehicles titled in the owner's name with current license plates will not be charged the $5 registration or the $25 administrative plate issuance fee to convert to the new HMV registration.
WisDOT will process HMV applications in order of date received. Previous Collector plate numbers cannot be reissued as HMV plates. Multiple vehicles registered to a single owner will receive a new distinctive plate number for each vehicle.
- Completed and signed form MV2592.
- Current vehicle title (original only; photocopies not accepted).
- Photographs of the engine compartment, data or serial number tag, interior and exterior and all sides of the vehicle.
- Current Wisconsin Registration Certificate.
Keep a copy of the documents for your records and mail the application, documents, and photographs to the address above.
'Opt Out' - withhold your name and address from mailing lists
WisDOT uses the information provided on form MV2592 to issue Historic Military Vehicle license plates. Under open records laws, WisDOT must make nonexempt information available upon request. If you want your name and address withheld from mailing lists of ten or more individuals, check the "opt out" box on the MV2592 form.
Back to Special and personalized license plates
Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Call: (608) 266-1466
Last modified: October 4, 2010
All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.