Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.
Driver license or identification (ID) card
If you change your name and hold a Wisconsin ID card or Wisconsin driver license, you will need to visit a Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) service center to get a duplicate license or ID card. DMV customer service centers accept cash, checks, debit cards and the following credit cards: Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. Debit cards will be processed as credit. Before going to a DMV service center, you will need to change your name on your social security card. You will need to surrender your current Wisconsin driver license or Wisconsin ID card when requesting a name change.
A duplicate driver license will be issued to you for $14. A duplicate ID card costs $16.
Commercial driver license (CDL)
If you hold a Commercial Driver License (CDL), you will need to visit a DMV service center to have your name changed. You will need to surrender your current Wisconsin Commercial Driver License (CDL) when requesting a name change. DMV customer service centers accept cash, checks, debit cards and the following credit cards: Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. Debit cards will be processed as credit.
A replacement driver license will be issued to you. The fee is $14.
Certificate of title
Changing your name on your Wisconsin driver license or Wisconsin ID card changes your name with DMV. It is not mandatory that you obtain a corrected title, confirmation of ownership* or registration documents with your new name. When DMV issues a subsequent title, confirmation of ownership or registration to you, it will reflect the new name. You will need to mail in or bring in your current title or confirmation of ownership when requesting a name change.
* Please note that, beginning July 30, 2012, state law requires the department to deliver all titles to the lien holder (lender). Vehicle owners will receive a Confirmation of Ownership document in place of the title that is sent to the lien holder (lender).
If you have a lien on your vehicle, check Lien look up and contact the lien holder to obtain the title, if the date processed is on or after July 30, 2012.
After changing your name on your Wisconsin driver license or ID card, you may, however, request a title, confirmation of ownership, or registration document with the new name. The fee is $5 per vehicle at the DMV service center, or no charge by mail, if only the customer name has changed.
Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Last modified: November 14, 2014
All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.