Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Child safety seat law

In basic terms:

  • Children must be in a car seat until they reach age 4 and 40 pounds, and in a booster seat until they reach age 8, more than 80 pounds in weight, or more than 4ft. 9in. tall.
  • Tiered structure applies:
    • Less than 1 year old, or less than 20 lbs. must be in a rear-facing child seat in the back seat (if so equipped)
    • If at least one year old and 20 pounds, but less than four years old or less than 40 pounds, must be a in a forward- or rear-facing child seat in the back seat (if so equipped)
    • Age 4 to age 8, and between 40-80 lbs., and no more than 4 ft. 9 in. must be in a forward- or rear-facing child seat in the back seat (if so equipped) or a booster seat
  • Penalty for non-compliance depends on the age of the child
    • If less than four years of age, the total penalty is $175.30
    • If between ages 4 and 8, the total penalty is $150.10 for the first offense, $200.50 for a second offense, and $263.50 for third and subsequent offenses
  • There are no exemptions from these rules allowing removal of a child from a restraint to attend to personal needs (such as feeding or diapering)
  • A child who, because of a medical condition, body size or a physical disability, is incapable of being transported in a child safety restraint system, may be transported without a safety restraint system with physician approval

Specific questions about child seats/booster seats should be directed to:

WINS (Wisconsin Information Network for Safety)
(1-866) 511-9467
wins9467@sbcglobal.net

Further information and recommendations available from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration: http://www.nhtsa.gov/Safety/CPS


Questions about the content of this page:
Wisconsin Information Network for Safety, wins9467@sbcglobal.net
1-866-511-WINS (9467)

Last modified: September 17, 2012

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.