Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.
Alcohol and chemical testing
EC2 testing device with printer
Alcohol and chemical testing supports the prosecution of drunk drivers through the provision of a systematic and standardized method of measuring the breath alcohol content of impaired motorists.
The program maintains and certifies evidential breath alcohol testing instruments, trains and certifies instrument operators and provides expert testimony in court on breath alcohol and instrumentation issues. The program is also responsible for the approval of ignition interlock devices, approval of the preliminary breath testing devices (PBTs) as well as PBT operator certification and repair.
2015 Basic Breath Examiner Specialist Training
The Breath Examiner Specialist Training is a 3-day course for local law enforcement officers who do not hold a current evidential chemical test permit. This program is designed to certify applicants for permits to operate the evidential breath alcohol instrumentation in accordance with s. 343.305(10)(b) of the Statutes.
The class announcement provides all details of the course, including dates and locations. A completed application must be submitted for each officer you wish to enroll. Pre-registration is required.
- 2015 class announcement
- 2015 course schedule
- Application for enrollment - Basic Breath Examiner Specialist Training Program
Agency training officers will receive an email confirmation after applications have been processed. Confirmation letters will be sent to training officers 2-4 weeks before all scheduled training.
Contact Jan Grebel, chemical test supervisor, for more information on training.
Installation of an ignition interlock device
Wisconsin courts are required to order an ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed on every vehicle owned by the offender for first offense OWI with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher, for all second or subsequent OWI offense, and for chemical test refusal, unless doing so would cause an undue financial hardship.
IIDs are leased from a service provider for the duration of the vehicle sanction, a minimum of 12 months. The lease and service agreement includes fees for installation, monthly service, and removal at the conclusion of the sanction. Other fees may be assessed by the service provider for periodic calibration, violation resets, or permanent lockout conditions.
Please contact Diane Drinkman, chemist, for more information on IIDs.
There are currently four IID models certified for use in Wisconsin:
- Intoxalock Model 1001A - Consumer Safety Technology, Inc.
- Interlock XT - Draeger Safety, Inc.
- LifeSafer FC100 - LifeSafer Interlock
- SSI 20/20 - Smart Start, Inc.
IID service centers
After identifying nearby IID service centers, the offender should call the toll-free number listed for fee information and to schedule an appointment for installation.
The installation must be completed within 14 days of a court order or customer request, whichever is later.
OWI offenders who are serving a sentence in the county jail and qualify for daily work release privileges have two weeks to show proof of IID installation. Failure to show proof will result in revocation of work release privileges.
Additional information about approved ignition interlock devices is available on manufacturers' websites:
Alcohol and Chemical Testing Section
3502 Kinsman Blvd
Madison, WI 53704
Office: (608) 243-2946
Fax: (608) 243-2954
Questions about the content of this page:
DSP Web Content
Last modified: November 19, 2014
All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.